No amount is too big or too small. Any donation is appreciated.

Why Not? It helps the blog survive!

Tuesday, August 12, 2014


Collection of Zapp

One of the most underrated funk groups of the 1980s, Zapp revolutionized the computer pop of electro with their trademark vocoder talk boxes and bumping grooves, emulating the earthier side of Prince and Cameo, with a leader in Roger Troutman who was more than efficient at polished production. The family group, with brothers Roger, Lester, Larry, and Tony Troutman, grew up in Hamilton, OH, influenced by hometown heroes the Ohio Players as well as Parliament and other funk groups. Tony was the first to begin recording, with an obscure single for Gram-O-Phon Records, "I Truly Love You," which scraped the R&B charts in 1976. Joined by his brothers (with Roger on vocals and guitar, Lester on drums, Larry on percussion, and himself contributing bass) and christened Zapp, the group played around the Midwest and gradually picked up backing vocalists (Bobby Glover, Jannetta Boyce), keyboard players (Greg Jackson, Sherman Fleetwood) and a horn section (Eddie Barber, Jerome Derrickson, Mike Warren).

Zapp's following quickly gained notices, and Bootsy Collins himself was hired on to work with the group on their debut album. Released in 1980, Zapp hit the Top 20 on the pop charts, thanks to the single "More Bounce to the Ounce." The following year, Roger worked on Funkadelic's The Electric Spanking of War Babies and released his solo debut album, The Many Facets of Roger. His special cover of "I Heard It Through the Grapevine," complete with vocoderized talk box, pushed the album into gold territory (as Zapp had done). Zapp II appeared in 1982 and proved just as popular as the group's first, including Zapp's only number one R&B single, "Dance Floor."

Zapp III barely made the Top 40 pop charts upon release in 1983, and Roger's second solo album, The Saga Continues, was also a disappointment, though his cover of "Midnight Hour" featured the Mighty Clouds of Joy. The New Zapp IV U fared slightly better after release in late 1985 (thanks to the single "Computer Love"), but in 1987, Roger's third solo album, Unlimited!, featured the group's biggest hit yet, "I Want to Be Your Man," a chart-topper on the R&B lists and a respectable number three pop. Though Roger and/or Zapp hit the R&B charts frequently during the rest of the late '80s, the unit had effectively halted recording with the 1991 Roger LP Bridging the Gap. Roger continued to produce and play with other artists, and it was his talk box that graced Dr. Dre & 2Pac's Top Ten 1996 single "California Love." The 1993 Roger & Zapp collection All the Greatest Hits sold well, earning the collective their first platinum record. The Zapp story ended in tragedy on April 25, 1999, when Roger was shot to death by Larry, who then turned the gun on himself.

Album: Zapp (1980)

01. More Bounce to the Ounce
02. Freedom
03. Brand New Player
04. Funky Bounce
05. Be Alright
06. Coming Home

Album: Zapp II (1982)

01. Dance Floor
02. Playin' Kinda Ruff
03. Doo Wa Ditty (Blow That Thing)
04. Do You Really Want An Answer
05. Come On
06. A Touch Of Jazz (Playin' Kinda Ruff Part II)

Album: Zapp III (1983)

01. Heartbreaker (Part I, Part II)
02. I Can Make You Dance
03. Play Some Blues
04. Spend My Whole Life
05. We Need The Buck
06. Tut-Tut (Jazz)
07. Doo Wa Ditty-Live (With introduction by Mo Ostin)

Album: The New Zapp IV U (1985)

01. It Doesn't Really Matter
02. Computer Love
03. Itchin' For Your Twitchin'
04. Radio People
05. I Only Have Eyes For You
06. Rock 'N' Roll
07. Cas-Ta-Spellome
08. Make Me Feel Good
09. Ja Ready To Rock

Album: Zapp V (1989)

01. Ohh Baby, Baby
02. I Play the Talkbox
03. Stop That
04. Fire
05. Been This Way Before
06. Back the Bass-Iks
07. Jesse Jackson
08. It Ain't the Thing to Do
09. Sad-Day Moaning
10. Rock Star
11. Jake E Stanstill

Album: All The Greatest Hits (1993)

01. More Bounce to the Ounce
02. Be Alright
03. I Heard it Through the Grapevine
04. So Ruff So Tuff
05. Do it Roger
06. Dance Floor
07. Doo Wa Ditty (Blow that Thing)
08. I Can Make You Dance
09. Heartbreaker, Pts. 1-2
10. In the Mix
11. Midnight Hour [Live '93-Remix][Live]
12. Computer Love
13. Night and Day '93 [Remix]
14. I Want to Be Your Man
15. Curiosity '93 [Remix]
16. Slow and Easy
17. Mega Medley

Album: Compilation Greatest Hits, Vol. 2 & More (1996)

01. Living for the City
02. Chocolate City
03. I Will Always Love You
04. Thin Line Between Love and Hate
05. Easy
06. (Everybody) Get Up
07. Midnight Hour
08. It Doesn't Really Matter
09. I Only Have Eyes for You
10. California Love
11. Play Some Blues
12. Girl, Cut It Out [Mix]
13. Please Come Home for Christmas

Album: Zapp VI Back By Popular Demand (2002)

01. Intro
02. You've Got Mail
03. Say You Will Say You Won't
04. I Wanna Love You
05. She's 'Bout to Roll
06. The Discussion
07. The Way You Walk and Move
08. If You Would Love Me
09. This Is Our Song to You
10. Be With You Forever
11. Late Night Fantasy
12. Zapp Is Back
13. Get Up Off the Wall
14. I Finally Found What I've Been Searching For

Album: We Can Make You Dance Zapp & Roger Anthology (2002)


01. Freedom
02. Truth Be Known
03. Brother Lester
04. More Bounce to the Ounce
05. Be Alright
06. Brand New Player
07. So Ruff, So Tuff
08. I Heard It Through the Grapevine, Pt. 1
09. Do It Roger
10. Doo Wa Ditty (Blow That Thing)
11. Dance Floor, Pt. 1
12. A Touch of Jazz (Playin Kinda Ruff), Pt. 2
13. Play Some Blues


01. I Can Make You Dance Musiq
02. Heartbreaker, Pts. 1-2
03. Spend My Whole Life
04. In the Mix
05. Play Your Guitar, Brother Roger
06. Girl, Cut It Out
07. Midnight Hour, Pt. 1 [Single Version]
08. Cosmic Round Up
09. Computer Love
10. I Want to Be Your Man
11. I Only Have Eyes for You
12. Ooh Baby Baby
13. I Play the Talk Box
14. (Everybody) Get Up
15. Slow and Easy


1 comment:

xザクx said...

Thank you for re uploading these and roger's albums. Followed your blog for awhile now and appreciate your posts.

Probux!!!! A Great way to earn money... No Startup