No amount is too big or too small. Any donation is appreciated.

Why Not? It helps the blog survive!

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Chaka Khan

Collection of Chaka Khan

Best known in the mainstream for her superb 1984 cover of Prince's "I Feel for You," R&B singer Chaka Khan enjoyed solo success as well as popularity as a member of the group Rufus. Born Yvette Marie Stevens in Great Lakes, IL, on March 23, 1953, she was raised on Chicago's South Side, and at the age of 11 formed her first group, the Crystalettes. While still in high school, she joined the Afro-Arts Theater, a group which toured with Motown great Mary Wells; a few years later, she adopted the African name Chaka Khan while working on the Black Panthers' breakfast program. After quitting high school in 1969, Khan joined the group Lyfe, soon exiting to join another dance band, the Babysitters; neither was on the fast track to success, but her fortunes changed when she teamed with ex-American Breed member Kevin Murphy and André Fisher to form Rufus.

Debuting in 1973 with a self-titled effort on the ABC label, Rufus was among the pre-eminent funk groups of the decade; distinguished by Khan's dynamic vocals, the group earned half a dozen gold or platinum albums before she went solo in 1978. Produced by Arif Mardin, Chaka proved to be a significant hit on the strength of the single "I'm Every Woman" (a hit over a decade later for Whitney Houston); however, Khan's success was somewhat tempered by her public rivalry with the remaining members of Rufus, to whom she was still contractually bound for two more LPs. (Their differences were eventually resolved in a 1982 concert at New York's Savoy Theater, issued as Stompin' at the Savoy.) As a solo artist, Khan recorded backing vocals for Ry Cooder's 1979 effort Bop Till You Drop, then cut her sophomore album, 1980's Naughty; it was not a hit, however, nor was its follow-up, What Cha' Gonna Do for Me.

In 1982, Khan recorded Echoes of an Era, a collection of jazz standards featuring performances from Freddie Hubbard, Joe Henderson, Stanley Clarke, Chick Corea, and Lenny White. Her pop career was on shaky ground when she released 1984's I Feel for You, a platinum-seller launched by its title cut, a Grammy-winning, rap-inspired rendition (featuring memorable cameos from Melle Mel and Stevie Wonder) of a fairly obscure Prince album track. Still, while subsequent LPs like 1986's Destiny and 1988's C.K. kept Khan riding high on the R&B charts, her standing in pop's mainstream again began to wane, and at the end of the 1980s, she relocated to Europe.

In 1990, she won another Grammy for "I'll Be Good to You," a duet with Ray Charles. Come 2 My House, released on Prince's independent label, appeared in 1998, years after Khan had a falling out with Warner Bros. Just after penning the autobiography Chaka! Through the Fire, she collected another Grammy -- in 2004 -- for performing Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On" with the Funk Brothers in Standing in the Shadows of Motown. Classikhan, featuring several interpretations of jazz standards, followed later that year. As she continued an active touring schedule, she recorded Funk This, a set of relatively funky originals and covers (produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis), released in 2007.

Album: Chaka (1978)

01. I'm Every Woman
02. Love Has Fallen On Me
03. Roll Me Through The Rushes
04. Sleep On It
05. Life Is A Dance
06. We Got The Love
07. Some Love
08. A Woman In A Man's World
09. The Message In The Middle Of The Bottom
10. I Was Made To Love Him

Album: Naughty (1980)

01. Clouds
02. Get Ready, Get Set
03. Move Me No Mountain
04. Nothing's Gonna Take You Away
05. So Naughty
06. Too Much Love
07. All Night's All Right
08. What You Did
09. Papillon (AKA Hot Butterfly)
10. Our Love's In Danger

Album: What Cha' Gonna Do For Me (1981)

01. We Can Work It Out
02. What Cha' Gonna Do For Me
03. I Know You, I Live You
04. Any Old Sunday
05. We Got Each Other
06. And The Melody Still Lingers On (Night In Tunisia)
07. Night Moods
08. Heed The Warning
09. Father He Said
10. Fate
11. I Know You, I Live You (Reprise)

Album: Echoes Of An Era (1982)

01. Them There Eyes
02. All Of Me
03. I Mean You
04. I Love You Porgy
05. Take The ''A'' Train
06. I Hear Music
07. Hire Wire - The Aerialist
08. All Of Me (Alt. Take)
09. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most

Album: Chaka Khan (1982)

01. Tearin' It Up
02. Slow Dancin'
03. Best In The West
04. Got To Be There
05. Be Bop Medley
06. Twisted
07. So Not To Worry
08. Pass It On

Album: I Feel For You (1984)

01. This Is My Night
02. Stronger Than Before
03. My Love Is Alive
04. Eye To Eye
05. La Flamme
06. I Feel For You
07. Hold Her
08. Through The Fire
09. Caught In The Act
10. Chinatown

Album: Destiny (1986)

01. Love of A Lifetime
02. Earth To Mickey
03. Watching The World
04. Other Side of The World
05. My Destiny
06. I Can't Be Loved
07. It's You
08. So Close
09. Tight Fit
10. Who's It Gonna Be
11. Coltrane Dreams

Album: C.K. (1988)

01. Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours)
02. Soul Talkin'
03. It's My Party
04. Eternity
05. Sticky Wicked
06. The End Of A Love Affair
07. Baby Me
08. Make It Last
09. Where Are You Tonite
10. I'll Be Around

Album: Life Is A Dance - The Remix Project (1989)

01. Life Is A Dance
02. I Know You, I Live You
03. This Is My Night
04. Eye To Eye
05. Slow Dancin'
06. Fate
07. I'm Every Woman
08. One Million Kisses
09. Ain't Nobody
10. Clouds
11. I Feel For You

Album: The Woman I Am (1992)

01. Everything Changes
02. Give Me All
03. Telephone
04. Keep Givin' Me Lovin'
05. Facts of Love
06. Love You All My Lifetime
07. I Want
08. You Can Make The Story Right
09. Be My Eyes
10. This Time
11. The Woman I Am
12. Love With No Strings
13. Don't Look At Me That Way

Album: Epiphany - The Best Of Volume 1 (1996)

01. Ain't Nobody
02. Papillon (A.K.A. Hot Butterfly)
03. Tell Me Something Good [Live]
04. I Feel for You
05. I Know You, I Live You
06. I'm Every Woman
07. Love Me Still
08. The End of a Love Affair
09. And the Melody Still Lingers On (Night in Tunisia)
10. Through the Fire
11. What Cha' Gonna Do for Me
12. Everywhere
13. Never Miss the Water
14. Somethin' Deep
15. Your Love Is All I Know
16. Every Little Thing

Album: Come 2 My House (1998)

01. Come 2 My House
02. Intro
03. This Crazy Life of Mine
04. Betcha
05. Spoon
06. Pop My Clutch
07. Journey 2 the Center of Your Heart
08. I'll Never B Another Fool
09. Democrazy
10. I Remember U
11. Reconsider (U Betta)
12. Don't Talk 2 Strangers
13. Hair
14. The Drama

Album: Classikhan (2004)

01. Hey Big Spender
02. Hazels Hips
03. The Best Is Yet To Come
04. Crazy
05. I'm In The Mood For Love
06. Is That All There Is
07. Stormy Weather
08. 'Round Midnight
09. Teach Me Tonight
10. To Sir With Love
11. Diamonds Are Forever
12. Goldfinger
13. I Believe

Album: The Platinum Collection (2006)

01. I Feel For You
02. I'm Every Woman
03. Ain't Nobody
04. This Is My Night (Remix Version)
05. Eye To Eye (Remix Version)
06. Papillon (Hot Butterfly)
07. I Know You, I Live You
08. Love Of A Lifetime
09. The End Of A Love Affair
10. Love You All My Lifetime
11. Don't Look At Me That Way
12. What Cha' Gonna Do For Me
13. Every Little Thing
14. Through The Fire

Album: Funk This (2007)

01. Back in the Day
02. Foolish Fool
03. One for All Time
04. Angel
05. Will You Love Me
06. Castles Made of Sand
07. Disrespectful (featuring Mary J. Blige)
08. Sign 'O' the Times
09. Pack'd My Bags, You Got the Love
10. Ladies' Man
11. You Belong to Me (featuring Michael McDonald)
12. Hail to the Wrong
13. Super Life


Probux!!!! A Great way to earn money... No Startup