No amount is too big or too small. Any donation is appreciated.

Why Not? It helps the blog survive!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Kenny Lattimore

Collection of Kenny Lattimore

After a false start with the late-'80s vocal group Maniquin, Kenny Lattimore became a minor R&B star in his own right in 1996 when his eponymous debut album generated two hit singles. Lattimore was born and raised in Washington, D.C., where he grew up in a musical family. Before he reached his teens, he was winning talent shows at his junior high school. Throughout high school he performed music, from classical to R&B. Despite his love for music, he decided to pursue architecture and city planning when he enrolled at Howard University.
Even though he wasn't majoring in music, he hadn't given it up as a hobby, and he joined the vocal group Maniquin. In 1987, the group signed with Epic, and two years later, they released their debut album. The record failed to become a hit, and the group sweated it out on the grueling chitlin circuit down South. After a year of touring, Lattimore left Maniquin in 1990. He had decided that he would continue to pursue music and began writing songs and collaborating with a number of artists. His songs were recorded by Glenn Jones and Jon Lucien, and he began working with Dem Twinzz, singing on the group's demos. The tapes attracted the interest of major labels, but Lattimore wanted to be a solo artist, not part of a group, so he moved to New York City in 1993. After struggling for a few months in Manhattan, Lattimore recorded a demo of songs he co-wrote; it was produced by J. Dibbs. The demo led him to a record contract with Columbia. His debut album featured production by Kenneth and Keith Crouch, Kipper Jones, Oji Pierce, Herb Middleton, Barry Eastmond, Jimmy Abney, and Dave Hall. Lattimore also did some preliminary production work on the album and wrote or co-wrote six of the 12 songs. Kenny Lattimore was released in 1996 and it was a steady seller over the next year, going gold and spawning the Top 40 R&B hit "Never Too Busy." From the Soul of Man followed in 1998, offering even more original songs as well as a few covers, including a surprisingly sensual version of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps." Times had changed by the time Weekend arrived in 2001, and the slick R&B and soft approach of the record hit a sour note with fans. The album made little impression, so Lattimore decided to try something different the next time around. Teaming with wife Chanté Moore, he recorded an album of duets entitled Things That Lovers Do. Offering new versions of songs from Keith Sweat, Marvin Gaye, Lionel Richie, and many others, the record only featured two original songs. After a greatest-hits compilation in 2004, he returned in 2006 with Uncovered/Covered, another album recorded with his wife.

Album: Kenny Lattimore (1996)

01. Never Too Busy
02. Just What It Takes
03. I Won't Let You Down
04. All I Want
05. Forever
06. For You
07. Joy
08. Where Did Love Go
09. Forgiveness
10. Always Remember
11. Climb The Mountain
12. I Won't Forget (Whose I Am)

Album: From The Soul Of Man (1998)

01. Days Like This
02. Trial Separation
03. If I Lose My Woman
04. Make Believe
05. Just Can't Get Over You
06. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
07. Destiny
08. Tomorrow
09. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
10. Heaven And Earth
11. All My Tomorrows
12. Interlude Introspective Mood
13. Well Done
14. Love Will Find A Way
15. If You Could See You (Through My Eyes)

Album: Weekend (2001)

01. Weekend
02. Baby You're The One
03. Come To Me
04. Can You Feel Me
05. If Love Is What You Want
06. Lately
07. Don't Deserve
08. Right Down To It
09. The Things I'll Do
10. Who
11. Healing

Album: Days Like This: The Best Of Kenny Lattimore (2004)

01. Joy
02. Heaven & Earth
03. Days Like This
04. Tomorrow
05. All I Want
06. Never Too Busy
07. Forgiveness
08. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
09. Destiny
10. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
11. Make Believe
12. Forever
13. For You
14. If You Could See Yourself (Through My Eyes)
15. Days Like This - (Remix)

Album: Timeless (2008)

01. Something
02. Everybody Here Wants You
03. You Are My Starship
04. And I Love Her
05. Come Down In Time
06. Ain't No Way
07. That's The Way Love Is
08. It Ain't No Use
09. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
10. Undeniably
11. Giving Up



Anonymous said...

I would like to get a copy of the greatest hits of Kenny Lattimore. please send link to

Gildog said...

Make a donation and I got you.

Anonymous said...

I just like the helpful info you supply on your articles.
I'll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here regularly. I'm reasonably certain I'll be told a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the next!
Here is my website :: abused

Regional College Of Pharmacy said...

Your blog is very informative and gracefully. Your guideline is very good. Thank you
Regional College of Pharmacy is established by ‘Deepshikha Kala Sansthan’. We are providing education with an integrated approach of teaching.
pharmacy college
top pharmacy college
pharmacy college in India
Best Pharmacy College In India
Top Pharmacy College In India
Polytechnic college
Top Polytechnic college
Polytechnic college in india
Best polytechnic colleges in India
Polytechnic college in Jaipur
Top polytechnic colleges
Best Mca colleges in india
list of Mba colleges in india
Top college in Rajasthan
Engineering college colleges

Anonymous said...

The Kenny Lattimore album should be reloaded. The song "For You" on it is incomplete and also skips very badly.

Probux!!!! A Great way to earn money... No Startup