No amount is too big or too small. Any donation is appreciated.

Why Not? It helps the blog survive!

Friday, May 25, 2012


Collection of Jodeci

If Boyz II Men are portrayed as a clean-cut, wholesome R&B vocal group, then Jodeci's wild, sexual, bad-boy image represents the other side of the coin. Made up of two sets of brothers, the group's name is a consolidation of three members' aliases: "JoJo" Hailey, Donald "DeVante Swing" DeGrate, and Cedric "K-Ci" Hailey; the group also includes Dalvin DeGrate. Natives of Charlotte, NC, all four members toured the South as young boys singing gospel music, even recording albums; both families belonged to the Pentecostal church, and the DeGrates' father was a minister. The boys were able to hear each other's gospel songs played on the radio, and eventually were introduced through girlfriends as teenagers. However, when they did meet, K-Ci was with a girl Dalvin had been dating, and a fight nearly broke out. The Hailey brothers and DeVante started hanging out together, partying and talking about making R&B records together, coming up with the name Jodeci at this time.

At age 16, DeVante ran away to Minneapolis to get a job in Prince's organization, but was refused. He returned to Charlotte, where he wrote a song and recorded JoJo singing it. The two planned on going to New York to shop the demo around by themselves, but both K-Ci and Dalvin decided to tag along at the last minute. By the time they got to New York, they had demo recordings of 29 songs, which they brought to the offices of Uptown Entertainment. They were almost rejected, but rapper Heavy D overheard the tape and talked Uptown president Andre Harrell into hearing the group. Harrell was impressed, and just like that, Jodeci signed a recording contract. In 1991, they recorded Forever My Lady, which featured the gold single "Come and Talk to Me" and went on to sell over three million copies. A minor feud resulted over the band's follow-up album, Diary of a Mad Band; Jodeci, unhappy with their treatment by Uptown, flirted with the idea of leaving for Dr. Dre's Death Row Records, which resulted in almost zero promotion for their new album. It didn't matter much, as Diary went platinum. The group's troubles got worse in 1993; DeVante and K-Ci were involved in an incident with a woman K-Ci met at a club and brought back to DeVante's apartment. The woman filed charges against the two, saying that K-Ci had threatened her and fondled her breast, while DeVante pointed a gun at her. Both pleaded guilty, but that wasn't all; shortly afterwards, DeVante's house was robbed of over 160,000 dollars in jewelry and clothes as the singer was held with guns in his mouth and at the back of his head.

Jodeci's third album, The Show, the After Party, the Hotel, was released in the summer of 1995. DeVante also was afforded the opportunity to work with Al Green, one of his idols, writing and producing the song "Could This Be the Love." Allmusic by Steve Huey

Album: Forever My Lady (1991)

01. Stay
02. Come & Talk To Me
03. Forever My Lady
04. I'm Still Waiting
05. U & I
06. Interlude
07. My Phone
08. Gotta Love
09. Play Thang
10. It's Alright
11. Treat U
12. Xs We Share

Album: Diary Of A Mad Band (1993)

01. My Heart Belongs To U
02. Cry For You
03. Feenin'
04. What About Us
05. Ride & Slide
06. Alone
07. Lately
08. You Got It
09. Won't Waste You
10. In The Meanwhile
11. Gimme All You Got
12. Sweaty
13. Let's Go Through The Motions
14. Jodecidal Hotline
15. Success

Album: The Show, The After Party, The Hotel (1995)

01. The Show
02. Bring On Da' Funk
03. Room 723
04. Fun 2 Nite
05. Room 577
06. S- More
07. The After-Party
08. Get On Up
09. Room 499
10. Can We Flo
11. Zipper
12. Let's Do It All
13. P.I.B. 4Play
14. Pump It Back
15. D.J. Don Jeremy
16 Freek 'n You
17. Room 454 De Vante's Inhermission
18. Time & Place
19. Fallin'
20. Love U 4 Life
21. 4 U
22. Good Luv

Album: Back To The Future (The Very Best Of Jodeci (2005)

01. Forever My Lady
02. Stay
03. Come & Talk To Me
04. I'm Still Waiting
05. Lately
06. Cry For You
07. Feenin'
08. My Heart Belongs To U
09. What About Us
10. Love U 4 Life
11. Freek 'N' You
12. Alone (Remix)
13. Success (Remix)
14. Get On Up
15. S-More (Remix)
16. Good Luv

Album: 20th Century Masters The Millennium Collection (2007)

01. Get On Up
02. Love U 4 Life
03. Come & Talk To Me
04. Stay
05. My Heart Belongs To U
06. Feenin`
07. Forever My Lady
08. Freek `n You
09. What About Us
10. I'm Still Waiting
11. Lately
12. Cry For You



Sofa said...

Thanks dog !
I'm ready to roll now .

Unknown said...

Link for The Show, The Afterparty, The Hotel doesn't exist. Could you please assist me with alternative.

Probux!!!! A Great way to earn money... No Startup