No amount is too big or too small. Any donation is appreciated.

Why Not? It helps the blog survive!

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Gerald Levert

Collection of Gerald Levert

A contemporary soul singer whose smooth yet robust vocals brought energy and emotion to even his most serene recordings, Gerald LeVert grew up in the shadows of his father, Eddie LeVert, Sr., of the O'Jays. As a child, his father's status in the music industry nurtured and helped prepare Gerald for his prosperous music career as a writer, arranger, producer, and performer. As Gerald was entering his adulthood, he, good friend Marc Gordon, and his brother Sean formed the trio LeVert. They recorded their first single, entitled "I'm Still," on the independent Tempre label. Even though Gerald was still maturing as a vocalist, his powerful, stirring delivery on the single is worthy of praise. Peaking on the Billboard R&B charts at number 70, it survived for eight weeks.

Nonetheless, that single set up a deal with Atlantic Records the following year, and it could not have been a better move. Initially, Gerald recorded with the group, scoring five number one singles, seven Top Ten singles, and four Top 20 singles on the Billboard R&B charts, including the Reggie and Vincent Calloway-written and produced number one single "Casanova," which also peaked at number four on the Billboard pop charts. He also managed to make room for a duet with labelmate Miki Howard, recording the number four single "That's What Love Is." In 1991, Gerald released his solo debut album, Private Line. The title track spawned his first number one single as a solo artist on the Billboard R&B charts. The following year, Gerald came back with a duet with his father and scored another number one single with "Baby Hold on to Me" and the number three single "School Me," reminiscent of Babyface's "Whip Appeal." However, in the midst of all his success, Gerald's only major pop appeal remained the "Casanova" single.

Pop producer David Foster presented a pop tune to Gerald, and "I Swear" became a number one and Top 20 hit on the pop and R&B charts, respectively. Subsequently, Gerald returned to Foster's stable to record "I'd Give Anything," also produced by Foster. Formerly a number four country hit for Boy Howdy under the title "She'd Give Anything," Gerald's version managed a pop Top 30 hit. Intended for crossover appeal, the single was actually a bigger hit on the R&B charts, peaking at number four and reinforcing Gerald's major following among R&B music lovers.

In addition to his impressive string of hits, the Cleveland, OH, native rendered his services as songwriter, vocalist, and producer to many artists, such as the O'Jays, Barry White, Stephanie Mills, Troop, Teddy Pendergrass, the Winans, Patti Labelle, Rude Boys, and on and on. In 1997, Gerald added another dimension to his prosperous career; he joined forces with R&B vocalists Keith Sweat and Johnny Gill under the acronym LSG, spawning the hit single "My Body." As a solo act, he released Love & Consequences the year following, returning in 1999 with G. He continued to be extremely productive throughout the early 2000s, releasing the albums Gerald's World, G Spot, Stroke of Genius, and Do I Speak for the World before 2005. Shortly after completing a personal memoir with his father, as well as another album, Levert died on November 10, 2006, at the age of 40. By mistake, he had taken a lethal combination of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. The album he had just completed, In My Songs, was released a day before Valentine's Day 2007. Something to Talk About, recorded with his father, followed that June. Allmusic by Craig Lytle

Album: Private Line (1991)

01. Private Line
02. School Me
03. Baby Hold on to Me
04. Can You Handle It
05. Shootin' the Breeze
06. I Wanna Be Bad
07. Just a Little Something - Gerald LeVert, Gordon, Marc
08. Hurting for You
09. Just Because I'm Wrong
10. Hugs & Kisses
11. You Oughta Be with Me - Gerald LeVert, Gordon, Marc
12. Private Line

Album: Groove On (1994)

1. Groove On
2. Rock Me (All Nite Long)
3. Let the Juices Flow
4. I'd Give Anything
5. Answering Service
6. Someone
7. How Many Times
8. Can't Help Myself
9. Have Mercy
10. Same Place, Same Time
11. Nice & Wet
12. Love Street

Album: Love & Consequences (1998)

01. No Sense
02. Thinkin' Bout It
03. Point the Finger
04. Breaking My Heart
05. That's the Way I Feel About You
06. It's Your Turn
07. I'm Not to Blame
08. No Man's Land
09. Men Like Us
10. Taking Everything
11. What About Me
12. Definition of a Man
13. Humble Me

Album: G (1999)

01. Application (I'm Lookin 4 a New Love)
02. Callin' Me
03. Nothin' to Somethin'
04. Strings, Strings
05. It Hurts Too Much to Stay
06. Mr. Too Damn Good
07. She Done Been
08. Heart Don't
09. Don't Take It Away
10. Second Time Around
11. Misery
12. Baby U Are
13. These

Album: Gerald's World (2001)

01. Soul Mate
02. DJ Played Our Song
03. What Makes It Good to You (No Premature Lovin')
04. You're a Keeper
05. #1
06. Smile for Me
07. Can't Win
08. Same Ol'
09. Just Us
10. Got Love
11. Make My Day
12. Made to Love Ya
13. What You Cryin' About
14. Forever You & Me
15. Dream With No Love

Album: The G Spot (2002)

01. Too Much Room
02. Since You Ain't Around
03. Wilding Me Out
04. Funny
05. The Top of My Head
06. The G Spot
07. Oh What a Night
08. Closure
09. Raindrops
10. Your Smile - Gerald LeVert, Johnson, Tommy
11. Backbone
12. Catchin' Feelings
13. All That Matters

Album: Stroke Of Genius (2003)

01. 1st Stroke (Intro)
02. Knock Knock Knock
03. Long Hot Summer
04. Awesome
05. Stroke of Genius
06. (They Long to Be) Close to You
07. I Got a Girl
08. U Got That Love (Call It a Night)
09. Wear It Out
10. Good Morning
11. Keep It Warm
12. Didn't We
13. To My Grave
14. Let It Be
15. The Visit (Interlude)
16. Eyes and Ears
17. Rest of Your Life
18. You Got That Love Again
19. Won't Get Up
20. Last Stroke (Outro)

Album: Do I Speak for the World (2004)

01. Intro/Speak For the World
02. Cornel West/Tavis Smiley Interlude
03. Crucify Me
04. Greater Later
05. Show You How to Love (Interlude)
06. Lay You Down
07. Everyday
08. Better to Talk It Out
09. It Was What It Was
10. Duty Calls
11. One Million Times
12. What Happened to the Lovin`
13. So What (If You Got a Baby)
14. Where Do We Go
15. Click a Glass
16. Do I Speak For the World (Outro)

Album: Voices (2005)

01. That's the Way I Feel About You -- Levert and Mary J. Blige
02. Hurts Too Much to Stay -- Levert and Kelly Price
03. All The Times -- LSG, Faith Evans, Coko, & Missy Elliott
04. Wind Beneath My Wings -- Levert and Eddie Levert, Sr.
05. Written All Over Your Face -- Rude Boys & Levert
06. So Alone -- Men At Large & Levert
07. That's What Love Is -- Miki Howard & Levert
08. A Rose By Any Other Name -- Teena Marie and Levert
09. I Believe I Can Fly -- Yolanda Adams and Levert
10. My Side of the Bed -- LSG

Album: In My Songs (2007)

01. In My Songs
02. I Don't Get Down Like That
03. DJ Don't
04. Wanna Get Up with You
05. Fall Back
06. Deep as It Goes
07. Hang in There
08. Sweeter
09. What Cha Think About That
10. To My Head
11. M'Lady
12. Is This the Way to Heaven?

Album: The Best Of Gerald Levert (2010)

01. Casanova (Single Version)
02. Private Line (Single Version)
03. Baby Hold On To Me (Feat. Eddie Levert)
04. School Me
05. I'd Give Anything
06. Answering Service
07. Already Missing You
08. My Body
09. Thinkin' Bout It
10. Taking Everything
11. Made To Love You
12. Funny
13. U Got That Love (Call It A Night)
14. In My Songs
15. DJ Don't
16. Can It Stay


No comments:

Probux!!!! A Great way to earn money... No Startup